Explain the zig-zag line in the periodic table

Ans. 1. On the basis of electronic configuration of elements, the periodic table is divided into four blocks namely, s-block, p-block, d-block and f-block.

  1. The elements of s-block (except hydrogen), d-block and f-block are all metals.

  2. In the p-block, all the three types of elements, i.e metals, non-metals and metalloids are present.

  3. A zig-zag line separates the metals on the left side form the non-metals on the right side of the periodic table.

  4. The bordering elements along the zig-zag line are the metalloids. These are Antimony (Sb), Germanium (Ge), Boron (B), Silicon (Si), Arsenic (As), Tellurium (Te), Polonium (Po). They show intermediate properties and are called as metalloids or semi-metals. 

No comments:

Post a Comment