The Islands

There are two groups of Islands

(a) The Arabian sea Islands and (b) Bay of Bengal islands.

(a) The Arabian Sea Islands

i. Lakshadweep, Minicoy and Amindivi islands are a group of islands in the Arabian Sea. 

ii. These are located 200 to 440 km off the southwester coast of India. 

iii. These islands form the smallest Union Territory if India. 

iv. Their total surface area is 32 sq. km. 

v. Kavaratti is the capital of this Union Territory.

(b) Bay of Bengal Islands

i. The North Andaman Islands are physically characterized by a central range and a number of narrow valleys. The Little Andaman is almost flat except a northern hilly tract. 

ii. The Nicobars, forming the summit of the submarine mountain range, are hilly in character. The surface has been highly cup up by small streams. The depressions are filled up to form alluvial plains.